Removing Balsa from a Windows Machine

From LSDevLinux
Jump to: navigation, search

Introduction

This page is part of the Quick Start for Balsa. It tells you how to remove Balsa from a Windows Machine. It also tells you how to temporarily remove the Balsa item from the boot menu and later restore it.

Before you you remove Balsa completely, you should back up your data from within Balsa. Once Balsa is removed, you will not be able to access the data.

Instructions

These instructions tell you how to remove Balsa from a Windows Machine. You can also use them to temporarily turn off Balsa.

  1. In the Windows boot menu choose the Windows item.
  2. Log into an account with Administrator's privileges.
  3. In Windows Explorer, go to C:\BalsaBoot
  4. You will see a file named ConfigureBalsaBoot (Depending on how your computer is set up, this file may be named ConfigureBalsaBoot.cmd)
  5. For Vista or Win7, right-click on the file and select Run As Administrator. For XP double-click on the file.
  6. Windows may ask you for permission to continue. Answer Yes.
  7. A window will appear with the following menu. Answer appropriately.
Balsa Config
==================================================================
1. Remove Balsa from the Windows Boot Sequence.
2. Remove Balsa User Data and Configuration.
       (If you want both #1 and #2, choose #2 first)
3. Turn Off Balsa in the Windows Boot (but available to turn on)
4. Turn On Balsa (Undo #3)
5. Adjust Boot Timeout
==================================================================
Please make a choice: 1, 2, 3, 4 or 5:

If you answer 1 or 3, Windows will no longer ask if you want to boot into Balsa when it starts. Choose 4 to turn back on the option of booting into Balsa if you've previously chosen 3.

To remove Balsa data from your Windows system, choose 2. If you are going to remove both the data and the Balsa boot entry, remove the data first (2) and then run the script again to remove the boot entry (1).

A Warning About Automatic Backup

Balsa saves a backup copy of the user's data on the Balsa device. If you delete the Balsa data, and later run Balsa again, Balsa will restore the data from the Balsa device. If don't want that to happen, remake the Balsa device from scratch as well. See Quick Start for Balsa#Downloading and Producing a Balsa SD card.